2018 Winter Athletic Awards
3/28/2018 6:58 PM

On Tuesday, March 27, 2018, the Arthur L. Johnson Athletic Department held their 2017– 2018 Winter Athletic Awards. The evening, sponsored by the Crusader Athletic BoosterClub, was held in the Arthur L. Johnson Auditorium.


All the Winter Athletic Teams and their seasons werehighlighted by their coaches while handing out letters and awards to thestudent athletes. Over 190 varsity athletic letters were handed out throughoutthe evening, as participation in athletics at Arthur L. Johnson High School continues to grow.


The program continued with the Student Athlete Award, whichwas presented by the Principal of Arthur L. Johnson High School, Mrs. JenniferFeeley. The Student Athlete Award is given out each athletic season to astudent athlete that is not only a champion on the field, but in the classroomas well. The 2017-2018 Winter Student Athlete award recipient was GeorgeVisconti Jr.


In addition, the CrusaderG.P.A. Challenge was awarded to the team that finishes with the highestoverall G.P.A. amongst athletic teams for the winter season. The recipients waspresented with certificates, had their team memorialized on a plaque, and willbe invited for a “Breakfast with theA.D.” to celebrate their actions both in the classrooms and on the fields. The G.P.A. Challenge was for the winterseason was awarded to the Crusader Girls’ Track and Field Team with a G.P.A. of4.0168. The following members of the Girls’ Track and Field Team were namedG.P.A. Challenge winners: Grace Duffy, Saga Elsekhely, Lindsey Hofschneider,Jessica Knowles, Sydney Tropeano, Katelyn Falke, Natalya Torres, Kylee Zawacki,Emma Hilton, Julia Kalynchuk, Nicole Randazza, Shailynn, Rapp, Taylor Turek,Jenna Weise, and Carly Tarentino.


The Best TeammateAward will be given out seasonally to one member from each athletic teamthat best fits the characteristics of a good teammate. The individuals thatreceive these awards exhibit upbeat attitudes and outstanding character. Theyhelped influence the team’s culture in a positive manner, while alwayssupporting teammates and promoting team unity. The Best Teammate Award Winners were: Boys’ Basketball – Jeff Drajin, Girls Basketball – Bailey Rosenmeier, Wrestling – Joseph Concina, Ice Hockey – Dylan Bohm, Boys’ Winter Track &Field – Jack Delaney,Girls’ Winter Track & Field – Grace Duffy, Swimming – SebastianRomano, Bowling – Toan Le, andCheerleading – ShannonLavin.


The evening culminated with the announcement of the TeamMost Valuable Players. The MVPs were: Boys’ Basketball – George Visconti Jr., Girls Basketball – Amy Wysocki, Wrestling – Tyler Bohm, Ice Hockey – Michael Adamowitz, Boys’ Winter Track & Field – Nicholas Serpe, Girls’ Winter Track& Field – Lindsey Hofschnieder,Swimming – MahmoudIbrahim, Bowling – Andrew Beach, and Cheerleading – Adriana Palmucci.

Athletic Director Gus Kalikas,had this to say about the event: “Onceagain, our Winter Awards Program was a successful evening as it allows theDistrict, Administration, and Coaches the opportunity to acknowledge awonderful Winter Sports Season as well as recognize both student athletes andtheir parents alike for all that they have accomplished this past winterathletic season.”

News Comments & Questions
No comments yet, be the first one?